Cyprus University of Technology

The Cyprus University of Technology (Τεχνολογικό Πανεπιστήμιο Κύπρου; CUT), is a public university founded in Limassol in 2003 and consists of seven faculties. Cyprus University of Technology is a member of the European University of Technology alliance, EUt+, with the ambition to create a new type of European university that is locally anchored in each of our regions and globally connected. An important parameter of the international recognition that the University enjoys is the universities’ international rankings. The CUT has occupied high positions in three of the most well-known international ranking lists: Times Higher Education, QS and Shanghai. The Department of Civil Engineering and Geomatics is under the Faculty of Engineering and Technology of the Cyprus University of Technology. The Department of Civil Engineering and Geoinformatics Engineering has research centres, laboratories and research groups that promote research in areas related to the department as well as are well equipped to support its curricula and research activities. The Department offers the following two orientations 1.Civil Engineering and 2. Surveying Engineering and Geoinformatics Engineering as well provides high quality education and research programmes with international guidelines. The Department offers students the opportunity to develop a strong technical and theoretical background through their curricula. Also, students will better understand the practical importance of the direction they choose aiming to develop the necessary skills for their future involvement in the workplace. The Remote Sensing and Geo-Environment Lab within the Department of Civil Engineering and Geomatics conducts both basic and applied research towards improved understanding, management, and monitoring of natural resources and infrastructures and to offer expert services and products of excellent qualities in line with the latest development remote sensing and related geospatial technologies or other high-tech tools. The lab is active in the project management of several funded projects as well in stakeholders’ engagement, dissemination and networking. The lab has participated in more than 100 projects funded from EC, national and industrial sources (e.g. Horizon Europe, H2020, ESA, FP7, FP6, INTERREG, ECHO, LIFE+, MED, MARIE-CURIE (ITN), EUREKA, ERASMUS+, Cyprus Research Promotion Foundation (CRPF) etc. In view of the modern needs and requirements of the single European market and with the aim of contributing to the technological upgrading and modernization of the agri-food sector of the island, the Cyprus University of Technology established the first and unique Department of Agricultural Sciences, Biotechnology and Food Science in Cyprus. The Department offers a university degree in agricultural sciences, specializing in three main directions: Crop Science and Technology, Food Science and Technology, Animal and Dairy Science. The vision of the Department is to evolve and establish itself as an internationally recognized research and education center in the field of Agricultural Sciences, Biotechnology, in the broadest sense, and Food Science for the specific soil and climatic conditions of the southeastern Mediterranean.